You can’t dress like that in our gym

One World – One Struggle. Stupid is as stupid does!

These stories should not be normal.

By curator, Lindsey Kukunda

When feminist Mildred Apenyo started Uganda’s first women’s only gym FitClique, I heard quite a number of grumbles about the oddness of having a gym dedicated to making one sex comfortable.  I want to tell you a story to explain why I for one think it was long overdue.

I was a resident in Speke Hotel Munyonyo for a week and could not use their gym even once because my clothes were deemed inappropriate. I’m not complaining. The story really is quite funny. When I trotted into their gym I was wearing an outfit similar to the one below but had a tank top instead of a crop top.

shorts-and-beer

Minus the beer

A manager told me it was against their dress codes for women and I had to wear a full top and he mumbled something about proper exercising shorts. Okay. So I went back…

View original post 168 more words

Leave a Reply

